Episode 13: Let’s Talk About All Things Enneagram, Shall We?

Copy of Align with Alora Podcast Blog (14).png


Today we are going to talk about the Enneagram. I get constant DM’s on my Instagram asking “What is my type? How do I know? Where do we take the test? What does a wing mean? What does it mean if I change numbers when I’m stressed or I can’t relate to this number?

Well, we’re going to talk about all of it.


This episode has been such a long time coming. I have done extensive and obsessive research. There have been Instagram accounts that have gone from like 0 to 200K.

I know the biggest question we all get is, where did the enneagram come from? And why in the world is it right? It’s almost creepy, right? And I do want to say, disclaimer, I guess I just want to say I don’t think that it’s the law. You know, it’s not something that like, oh, you’re absolutely going to do this. And it’s going to be done this way. I think of it more like a self-help guiding tool. And it’s also a way for us to use it for good. I use it to understand, to be empathetic, to be sympathetic to other people’s needs. I think we all need to take a look and just analyze your faults, your fears, your failures, your stresses and try to avoid them, try to heal them, and try to release whatever is negative.

I feel like now that I know my issues, I can either be prepared for something. I can analyze things more and tell myself “Oh Alora you’re just overreacting because when you get stressed out, you question things.” From there, I can just shut my brain off. I think a lot of people can agree with me when they say that when you’ve done extensive research with the enneagram, it has actually helped you as a person. It’s just a growth tool.

I have this book, it’s called the enneagram made easy. I got it on Amazon. It was like $11.97, the best purchase I’ve ever made. Of course, ”The Sacred Enneagram” is just a major favorite, but that’s for people who want to get really deep into it. But if you’re just kind of wanting to know and you’re curious and you want something cute and fun. “The Enneagram Made Easy” has cute little comics and it breaks things down kind of like in bullet points, which is what 3’s like we don’t like things super extensive but “The Sacred Enneagram” is more of a deeper, passionate view on each number.What types they’re in what sections they’re in, even to the point of like, what your virtue is, and even how to like help your spiritual sense of, of self and what your biggest struggles are and how to deal with them. “The Sacred Enneagram” goes really, really deep into the pain because that’s really what these are all based on is either it’s a childhood wound or it’s just a pain that you were not able to process as a child. And most studies say that you know, you are your entire personality by the age of four or five. So something happened to you at a certain age that led you to this point in your life.

An Excerpt from “The Enneagram Made Easy”

“So the first thing that I would say is that the enneagram is a study of the nine basic types of people. It explains why we behave the way we do and it points to specific directions for individual growth. It’s an important tool for improving relationships with family, friends, and coworkers. The roots of the enneagram go back many centuries. its exact origin is not known, but it is believed to have been taught orally in secret. Brotherhood’s in the Middle East, the Russian mythical teacher Gi Girge introduced it to Europe in the 1920s. And then it arrived in the US in the 1960s. The enneagram system is represented by a circle containing a nine-pointed star like shape. Enya is Greek for the number nine and gram means drawing. So an enneagram just basically means a drawing with nine points. The Enneagram teaches that early in life, we learn to feel safe and to cope with our family situations and personal circumstances by developing a strategy based on our natural talents and abilities. The Nine numbers are as follows I’m just going to follow the circle. One, the perfectionist. Two. the helper. Three, the achiever. Four, the romantic. Five, the observer. Six, the questioner. Seven, the adventurer. Eight, the asserter. Nine, the peacemaker.

So moving around the enneagram. The drawing is the nine points on the circumference of the circle are divided into a triangle and a six-pointed shape. Each point on the enneagram connects to two other points, these two points are called your arrows. When relaxed, you take on the positive qualities of the number that connects to yours when under stress, you reverse directions, one takes on the negative qualities of the four of the two and so on.”

 Okay, so about the wings your personality may blend into or be influenced by the types on either side of yours. So when people say that they have like a 9w1 is accurate when they say they have a 9w3 or I have like a 4w7, that’s impossible. So the only wing number that you can have is on either side of your core number. So me, for example, I could only be a 3w2 or 3w4.

So here’s a brief description of the 9 types:

1’s  are Perfectionists.

 They are realistic, conscientious, principled and they strive to live up to their high ideals.

2’s are Helpers.

They’re warm, nurturing and are very sensitive to other people’s needs.

3’s are Achievers.

They are energetic, optimistic, self assured and goal oriented.

4’s are Romantics

 They have sensitive feelings. They’re warm, perceptive and empathetic.

5’s are Observers.

They have a need for knowledge and are introverted, curious, analytical and insightful.

6’s are Questioners.

They are responsible, trustworthy and value loyalty to family, friends, groups and causes.

7’s are Adventurers.

They are energetic, lively and optimistic. They want to contribute to the world.

8’s are Asserters.

They are direct, self-reliant, self confident and protective.

9’s are Peacemakers.

They are receptive, good natured and supportive. They seek union with others and the world around them.

The three “Triads” breakdown:

The Heart Triad (2,3,4’s) act from their heart or emotions and are image based.

The Thinking Triad (5,6,7’s) act from their heads or knowledge and are fear based.

The Gut Triad (8,9,1’s) act from their instincts and are anger based.

So that’s a basic rundown on the enneagram but there is SO SO much more to learn about it and I talk about so many more details and even what it’s like to be a 3 in the episode. Listen above!